#79 put my time where my mouth is; commit to a project

I’m going for a walk. Just one foot in front of the other, over and over.

me and the firemen; they walked 60 km in these getups

Last summer I participated in the Weekend to End Breast Cancer, in Edmonton Alberta. This year, it is it titled the Weekend to End Women’s Cancers, but it’s the same event and I’ll be participating again; 60 kilometers (37.28 miles) over two days. I had contributed to a friend’s participation for a few years; she lost her mother to breast cancer several years ago, and last year I decided to join her and her daughter on the walk.

In 2009, I raised just over $2,000 and for 2010, I am starting my fundraising about three months earlier, and so have set my goal at $3,000. I’ve already raised $45 – whoo hoo! I’m on my way. Please add your contribution to the list!

The thing about the walk is this: like it says in their advertising, Cancer is hard – walking isn’t. Among Canadian women, breast cancer continues to be the most frequently diagnosed cancer with 22,700 new cases expected in 2009, nearly twice as many as lung cancer. Breast cancer is the second leading cause of cancer mortality among women, and is expected to take the lives of 5,400 Canadian women in 2009. The money that we (that’s you and I) raise here WILL HELP. It will help our mothers, our sisters, our friends, ourselves and our families. And it feels good. (Not on the feet, knees or hips – not there, but in our heart where feeling good really really feels good.)

Give until it hurts. My feet and the Alberta Cancer Foundation thank you.

me, nadean and alecia after 60 km

Here is the link to donate: Weekend to End Women’s Cancers; Kari’s Page

The training begins now, with short walks, and over the summer I will work up to about 30 km or so. If you live in the Edmonton area (St. Albert, Sherwood Park), watch for me; I’ll likely be walking in your park! August 7 and 8 is when the rubber hits the road. Thank you in advance!

~ by ktatkins on January 10, 2010.

2 Responses to “#79 put my time where my mouth is; commit to a project”

  1. Make sure you say something to Sue while you are in ORD this week.

  2. Mark, I did talk with Sue. You’re cleared to make a contribution! 😉

Leave a Reply

 
